You are using an unsupported browser. Please use the latest version of Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Edge.
Mass General Announces New Chair of Radiation Oncology

Hospital News

Mass General Announces New Chair of Radiation Oncology

A Message from David F. M. Brown, MD, and Marcela del Carmen, MD, regarding the new Chair of Radiation Oncology, Daphne Haas-Kogan, MD, MBA.

Mass General Giving
November 7, 2023

Dear Colleagues,

We are delighted to announce Daphne Haas-Kogan, MD, MBA, as the new chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology at Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Haas-Kogan is the current chair of the Department of Radiation Oncology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and as part of a new integrated leadership model, she will now take on the combined role of chair of Radiation Oncology for Mass General and BWH and chief of Enterprise Radiation Oncology for Mass General Brigham.

Daphne Haas-Kogan, MD, MBA
Daphne Haas-Kogan, MD, MBA

Dr. Haas-Kogan is a highly accomplished, internationally recognized thought leader in the field of Radiation Oncology. In our conversations, we were impressed with Dr. Haas-Kogan’s broad vision, her steadfast commitment to research, education and clinical care, and her dedication and passion for mentoring and advancing the careers of others. We believe under Dr. Haas-Kogan’s leadership — building on our pioneering department’s foundation of excellence, exceptional reputation and rich history of academic and clinical innovation — that we will continue to strengthen and advance the remarkable care we provide to our patients with cancer, today and in the future.

Dr. Haas-Kogan received her MD from the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) and completed her residency in Radiation Oncology and post-doctoral fellowship in molecular neuro-oncology at UCSF in 1997. After spending part of her career in San Francisco, she came to Boston in 2015 to lead Radiation Oncology for the Brigham. An accomplished researcher focused primarily on brain tumors and targeted and biologic agents for the treatment of pediatric cancers, Dr. Haas-Kogan is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine and has been the principal investigator on numerous grants funded by the National Institutes of Health and the National Cancer Institute. She has remained an active clinician, educator and mentor, as well as serving as a leader in national organizations.

As we offer a warm and enthusiastic welcome to Dr. Haas-Kogan, we also would like to express our deepest gratitude to Anthony Zietman, MD, who has served as interim chair of the department since 2020. Anthony, your superb leadership and outstanding commitment to the department and your colleagues is much appreciated. Our thanks also go out to the members of the search committee — led by James Brink, MD, radiologist-in-chief — for their efforts in identifying outstanding candidates and ensuring we secured the best leader to help drive forward the future of comprehensive cancer care.

Thank you,
David F. M. Brown, MD
President, Massachusetts General Hospital

Marcela del Carmen, MD
President, Massachusetts General Physicians Organization